Anyone in there?

Almost two weeks without a post eh? Whats going on?

Well, SpeccyDS hasn’t been getting the attention it deserves lately simply because I haven’t had much time to work on it. However, I have still made a bit of progress.

File loading is pretty much complete, along with a touch-screen controlled GUI (which currently looks like it was drawn by a 5-year old. Graphics has never been one of my strong points). Only .SNA files are supported at the moment, but it’s only a small step to add .Z80s.

This has let me quickly test a load of new games. Unfortunatly, I must have broke something somewhere in the CPU core since some games which I knew were working before (such as JSW) now have an annoying habit of crashing at startup.

An unexpected bonus of getting file support enabled is that I can now write debug log files out to my supercard. No more manually stepping through code! I can now run some Z80 code until it crashes and then browse through the log file. Much easier.

7 comments so far

  1. otto on

    Thanks for this emulator, im very excited since i know that you are working on it. 😉

  2. spike on

    looking good. If you need any beta testing just give us a shout.

  3. MrShlee on

    Can you please email me on mrshlee a t gmail fot com.

    I need your help with a little something something.

  4. chubsta on

    Spectrum??

    The greatest gamnes machine ever…

    I know it is probably a long way away, and it involves you (not me!) doing loads of work, but a speccy emulator with a decent games loader is the holy grail to probably thousands of people…..

    and if you do it, kudos…….. then get to work on a c64 loader!!

    seriously, cheers for the effort, a lot pf people appreciate it!

  5. Shtroodle on

    Looks great! If you need any help with that keyboard let me know – Speccy was my pride and joy back in the days. I’m sure I could try to come up with a good looking and usable keyboard layout. Keep up the good work! 🙂

  6. Drood on

    You’re a legend!

    The one system I want to see emulated on the DS! Only problem I have is ALL the stuff I have is in bloody TZX format. I don’t think I actually HAVE any other snapshots unfortunately:(

    Regardless, very happy to see the greatest 8-bit machine being worked on:)

    Keep it up! Hope you plan to add sound support somewhere down the road. Portable Auf Wiedersehn Monty theme:)

  7. […] Crying because you’re not on the private beta roll for DSpec?  Fear not, as development of SpeccyDS rumbles on, and is looking pretty good from here. Almost two weeks without a post eh? Whats going on? […]


Leave a Reply

